Challenge · Experiences · Lists · The 20's Venture · Uncategorized

No. 1: Get my P’s

17.12.2015

I don’t know about the rest of the world, but in Australia, you can start driving at 16. Now maybe that doesn’t seem as crazy to some people as it does to me, but I always felt like the responsibility of manoeuvring a huge chunk of metal capable of running someone over was one that I was willing to put off for as long as I possibly could. But alas, I needed some form of ID to carry around and the idea that I might leave my passport somewhere and not realising it was gone until it was too late was a scenario that I not only feared, but felt was incredibly likely. So I got my Learners License. Then I found every excuse on the face of the planet to not practise driving. I didn’t have money for lessons. I was too stressed and I was in no frame of mind to drive. There were too many cars on the road (and before you laugh, I felt it was a legitimate excuse). So I slapped this little goal onto my very big list and I (finally!) got my Provisional Drivers License more than a year after I intended to. But I did it!

img_9192

Step 2: Save for my own car!

I’ve started this silly thing I’ve called my Cooper Count. Every time I see a Mini Cooper, I tally a point in one of my favourite apps of all time, Wunderlist, and the original idea was if I could get to 500 before my birthday, I’d buy a Mini Cooper. I started at the beginning of 2016 and to date have only seen 190, so it looks like that’s a bust (even with me driving past the Mini Car Yard a few times). Internally, I’m a little relived as those cars aren’t cheap. Still, here’s hoping for one day.

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 9.40.32 PM

There are a million and one reasons why I love this car. Much love to MINI for their “Design Your Own MINI” option on their website. No amount of dissuasion nor my bank balance has caused me to waver. In my mind, it’s not a matter of if, but a matter of when!

P-plated and proud!

-SKC.

Update (18.01.2017) – I got my Green P’s! So keen to be rid of these plates haha!

One thought on “No. 1: Get my P’s

Leave a Reply

