Challenge · Experiences · Lists · Photograph · The 20's Venture · Uncategorized

No. 16: Try a new hairstyle

28.07.16

I would like to think of myself as adventurous, though I think most people would like to believe that about themselves. The idea of not being afraid to try something new or to step out of your comfort zone. Something that I’ve learned about myself over the last 20 years of living: While I like my comfort zone, I don’t like liking it. I don’t like feeling like I’ve become complacent or too comfortable that I don’t bother trying something new. I tend to always order the same thing at restaurants, tea shops or juice bars just because it’s what I’ve always gotten. I’m comfortable. Sometimes it’s more than just ordering that particular thing because I’m craving it or that it’s the reason I’m there in the first place. It becomes a habit. So I figured, try something new. In my entire life, the only times when my hairstyle has changed was when my mother decided that I would look better with something else. And before you freak out and think that I’m incredibly and weirdly dependent on my mum (which I can be, some of the time), I’d like to clarify the significance of this fact: I haven’t had a different hairstyle since I was a child.

It’s about time for a change.

The whole point of this project was for me to have some form of written motivation to do the things I had always “planned” on doing, particularly things that I have put off or that scared me. Changing my hairstyle was something that I wouldn’t get overly anxious about, but it’s definitely something that made me think, “Hmm yeah, I should colour my hair or cut it that way next time,” only for me to rock up to the salon with the words, “Just the usual, please.”

So, I took full advantage of the few hours I had free hours I had whilst in the Philippines and changed my hair. It was always a toss up between curling my hair or colouring it because I’ve always had straight, black hair. I never thought to do both but when they suggested it at the salon, I figured I might as well go all in.

So here’s the before shot:

img_9541

And the after:

Screen Shot 2016-10-21 at 4.06.07 PM.png

I clearly didn’t think about taking a proper before and after shot at the time, but hopefully these will do. Also props to Bitmoji for the perfect image to cover my blurred and tired face.

I must say, I’ve never experienced a hair appointment quite like this one before. I don’t know whether it’s because I’ve never had my hair coloured or curled but the look on my sister’s reaction when they attached me to this contraption was definitely the highlight of the experience.

All in all, I’m pretty happy with the result. It’s nice to have a different hairstyle for a change, and it’s great because my hair always looks done up, even if I’ve just rolled out of bed.

Now the question that remains: next time, do I revert back, keep it, or change it to something new?

-SKC.

One thought on “No. 16: Try a new hairstyle

Leave a Reply

