Challenge · Creative Endeavours · Experiences · Lists · The 20's Venture · Uncategorized

No. 34: Finish a cross stitch

31.10.16

When I was a kid, I got into a lot of creative hobbies. Playing instruments, making jewelry, sewing – you name it, I probably went through a phase where I was obsessed with it. I was (and continue to be) extremely blessed that my mother loved to foster this natural curiosity to try new things and this motivation to be able to do things. But like most childhood joys, being able to experiment with creativity took a backseat when all my brain power and effort was being pumped into understanding math equations or memorising quotes from set texts. Fast forward to about a year and a bit ago, when my little sister (who is now in high school) was given a textiles project in Technology at school. While she was unbelievably stressed about the whole process, funnily enough all I took out of observing her over the period of the endeavour was the joy she felt when she had finally finished it.

I had never finished a cross-stitch. I succesfully filled canvases and journals, made necklaces and bracelets and earrings, emptied tubes of paint and vats of glue but never in my 20 years had I finished a cross-stitch. Seeing that joy of achievement from my sister, I’ll admit, made me feel a little jealous. And so, inspired by her I decided to add it to the list of things I’ve always said I was going to do but never got around to, and voila! Now I can say I have successfully finished a cross-stitch.

CROSS STITCH-2.jpg

I hope that this will jumpstart more future endeavours in cross-stitching. My grandmother (on my dad’s side) loved to cross-stitch, and her work is literal goals:

lola-ana-cross-stitch-2-2lola-ana-cross-stitch-1-2

If you are bored and looking for a new hobby, or you’re leading a super busy and always-switched-on kind of life, I couldn’t recommend this enough. Check out this link for some health benefits of stitching, and you’ll see what I mean.

Happy stitching!

-SKC.

 

2 thoughts on “No. 34: Finish a cross stitch

Leave a Reply

