Challenge · Creative Endeavours · Experiences · The 20's Venture · Uncategorized · Words

No. 68: Write an article

14.04.16

I’ve always loved writing, whether it be stories or articles or letters. I adore how certain words strung together in a certain way can evoke feelings, bring back memories and get people thinking.

Another thing that you should know about me for this task to make sense is this: growing up, I would romanticise how college would be like. I imagined dorm rooms and cafeterias and lecture halls and rectials. I imagined traveling home for the summer and participating in extra-curriculars. A major contributor to this fantasy were all the books and movies that I would read/watch about kids in college. I don’t know which movie or book it was that birthed this particular goal (to be honest, I am slightly convinced it was Gilmore Girls, but I can’t be certain), but I remember one of the characters writing for their school literary publication and I thought it would be something cool to do.

And so, I pitched some ideas to the editor of Blitz, the student publication of the University of New South Wales, and became a contributor for both online and print. Unfortunately I don’t have every single print article that I wrote, but I do have one in particular here:

Screen Shot 2016-11-27 at 11.55.09 PM.png

It was majorly nerve-racking to put myself on display to the UNSW community, especially when I was so brand new with no experience writing for a magazine before. Thankfully, the reception was positive, and I continued to contribute to the publication until the end of this semester. What’s also great about it is that my participation was included on my Graduate Statement, so for all you university kids thinking about participating in an extra-curricular – do it! It has the potential to open so many doors. Thanks to the opportunities, the exposure and the connections I made through this experience, I’ve been able to contribute to other publications as well. Definitely worth that extra work amidst assessments and classes.

-SKC.

3 thoughts on “No. 68: Write an article

  1. Hi Sam Beautiful post. I greatly admire your writing talent.  Will get back to you after this busy few weeks. Hope your trip to Japan went well. Love you,Part

    From: Samantha K Clemente To: lustrealicia@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, November 29, 2016 1:07 AM Subject: [New post] No. 68: Write an article #yiv0577449121 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv0577449121 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv0577449121 a.yiv0577449121primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0577449121 a.yiv0577449121primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv0577449121 a.yiv0577449121primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0577449121 a.yiv0577449121primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv0577449121 WordPress.com | samanthakclemente posted: “14.04.16I’ve always loved writing, whether it be stories or articles or letters. I adore how certain words strung together in a certain way can evoke feelings, bring back memories and get people thinking.Another thing that you should know about me for” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

