Challenge · Creative Endeavours · Experiences · Photography · Travel Diaries · Travels

Day 1: Sydney > Hong Kong

27.11.2016

I don’t think the nerves of going to Japan really hit me until I was at the airport. Sure, I felt excited and incredibly ready for this trip – I had been waiting since early adolescence to visit this culture rich country. But the nerves? They didn’t really hit me until my mum and siblings were waving goodbye to me at the Departure gate. This would be my first overseas trip without my family. I mean, I have travelled without them before, and its not like I’d be travelling alone on this trip, but this is the first time where I’d be out on my own, responsible for me without the security of knowing that my family was experiencing it all with me. It’s the first time I’d be away from home this long without someone from my family with me.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The nerves were quickly overtaken by excitement. The airport never ceases to inspire me. I think it’s all the possibility that it promises. New adventures of coming home – I have nothing but fond memories. I’ve made a vow to try and fill up my passport as much as I can until it expires again, and I hope its a vow I can keep.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Cathay Pacific really knows how to look after their passengers. The movie and TV show selection was to die for and I barely slept so I could fit in as much screen time as I could before landing. The plane ride was as smooth and comfortable as anything. I’ve always loved flying, but anyone who knows me well enough knows that one of my worst fears is the airplane lavatory. As a kid my mum would always tell me to be careful when flushing it because the waste is removed by extreme air suction. As a child, I accepted her word as gospel and didn’t bother to check her facts – I was careful, and I was terrified. Going into early adulthood (or what my age deems to be early adulthood), I never bothered to follow up on exactly how airplane lavatories operated and to this day remain terrified. In the 8 hour and 24 minute flight from Sydney to Hong Kong, I managed to hold my bladder until we were 58 minutes away from arriving at Hong Kong International Airport.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The stop over in Hong Kong lasted a few hours, but we spent most of it sitting in the lounge feeling exhausted from sleep deprivation. It did take a little bit of searching to find our way to our gate (a journey which included taking a internal train which was pretty cool). By the time our flight leaves, it’ll be another day. My eyes know I’m sleepy (I can feel the eye bags growing as I write this) but my brain is wide awake. Here’s hoping it can settle enough for me to get some sleep on the 5 hour flight to Narita.

-SKC.

 

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Sydney > Hong Kong

  1. Thanks Sam. Will kep reading.

    From: Samantha K Clemente To: lustrealicia@yahoo.com Sent: Sunday, December 11, 2016 8:10 PM Subject: [New post] Day 1: Sydney > Hong Kong #yiv7683511178 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7683511178 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7683511178 a.yiv7683511178primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7683511178 a.yiv7683511178primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7683511178 a.yiv7683511178primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7683511178 a.yiv7683511178primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7683511178 WordPress.com | samanthakclemente posted: “I don’t think the nerves of going to Japan really hit me until I was at the airport. Sure, I felt excited and incredibly ready for this trip – I had been waiting since early adolescence to visit this culture rich country. But the nerves? They didn’t reall” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

