Creative Endeavours · Experiences · Photography · Travel Diaries · Travels

Day 12: Dotonbori

08.12.2016

With only a few days left in Japan, we took to Dotonburi for our much anticipated shopping trip.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After a few hours we had too many bags full of clothes, food, souvenirs and presents to bring back home, and I was legitimately worried I wouldn’t be able to bring it all home. I bought so much matcha flavoured Pocky and Kit Kats because they just taste different in Japan.

After our shopping trip we headed back to Osaka Station to watch the sunset at the Umeda Sky Building. On the way we passed Beard Papas which sold cream puffs with a honeydew flavoured filling that tastes just like the Melona ice-cream. We quickly ate it at the store (since in Japan it’s considered rude to eat whilst walking in public) and hurried to the Umeda Sky Building, hoping that we wouldn’t miss the sunset.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The view of the city was absolutely breathtaking, and it was heaps of fun playing around with my camera and taking a million and one photos of the spectacular view (not even sure if that’s an exaggeration now that I look back at the photos I took). I would highly recommend visiting the Umeda Sky Building if you’re ever in Osaka, even if you’re just stopping by. It’s worth it.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Once the sun had set and we were content with our videos and photos, we stumbled across a German Christmas Market full of food, toys and Christmas decorations. I really love Christmas, so I really enjoyed wandering around the market.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
“Welcome to the Christmas Market” – Translated from German (thanks Google Translate!)

By the time we got back to the hotel, all we wanted to do was fill up on warm drinks, Japanese snacks and relax before our flight the next day. I managed to finish packing before I went to sleep, despite the major procrastination that I was so lazy to fight. The trip felt too short, but I think that was just because I wasn’t ready to go back home. The holiday had been a dream and I was already planning my next trip over. Even though Japan has been ticked off the Bucket List, I’m so ready to visit again soon!

-SKC.

One thought on “Day 12: Dotonbori

Leave a Reply

