Challenge · Creative Endeavours · Experiences · The 20's Venture · Words

No. 101: Do ’30 Days of Gratitude’

31.01.2017

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-4-46-32-pm

My very first Gratitude Journal was given to me by my mum when I was in primary school. I have always been ambitious and while that has helped me get to where I am today, there have definitely been times when I’ve been so caught up in the future, that I completely neglect to pause for a second to appreciate what I have right now. And I mean, what’s the point in life at all if you don’t experience it? All I was doing was focusing on what I didn’t have, or what I wanted to have and so thus, the gratitude journal. As the years have passed, it’s been a lot harder to take that second to pause, to focus on the present and trust in the future. And so, after being inspired by reading one of the Tips posted on Instagram by Passion Planner (if you don’t know what this is then you need to know what this is because it’s changed my life!), I decided to challenge myself to really try and think about all the blessings in my life. In hopes that this will inspire me to continue on for the rest of the year, I dubbed January: “The Month of Gratitude”. Every day of this month, I have written down one thing that I was grateful for. What I found was that when I really made the effort to think about it, I couldn’t narrow down my blessings (even for that one day) to just one thing. It was so enlightening and enriching and absolutely magnificent and I feel as though I’m better for it.

If you get the chance to as well, I strongly urge you to spend even just one minute every day to think about someone or something in your life that you are grateful for. Being the Psychology student that I am, I did a little research. I’ve always known that there are a myriad of benefits for being actively grateful during every day life, but according to the research of Robert A. Emmons, Ph.D from The University of California in Berkeley, there are a lot more benefits than some people realise. He found that for those who practise gratitude consistently, benefits can include:

Physical

• Stronger immune systems

• Exercise more and take better care of their health

• Sleep longer and feel more refreshed upon waking

Psychological

• Higher levels of positive emotions

• More alert, alive, and awake

Social

• More helpful, generous, and compassionate

• Feel less lonely and isolated.

Definitely have a read of the full article here if you’re interested, I just grabbed this information from there. I’ve turned my Gratitude Challenge into a creative project, and I’ll definitely share it up here soon!

P.S. I’m grateful for all of you.

-SKC.

Also, if you wanted to check out what Passion Planner is all about, check out their website or their Instagram. I’ve been using the Passion Planner for the last 3 years and it’s the perfect organsiner/planner/calendar/dream journal/goal mapper/motivator/everything for anyone who is obsessed with achieving dreams, making lists and staying organised as I am.

 

One thought on “No. 101: Do ’30 Days of Gratitude’

Leave a Reply

