Challenge · Experiences · The 20's Venture

No. 10: Get into an exercise routine

12.02.2017

I’ve always been more of a study, read, sing and write kind of girl. When we had gym class in school, I would groan in unison with my fellow unfit-and-lazy friends who couldn’t really care less about the proper technique required to kick a ball. But there were always a few things that would get me excited to be on my feet – playing basketball and doing bootcamp with friends (mainly because we were so competitive) were two of my favourites. But exercise or staying active was never really on my radar. I would walk enough and be out of the house enough for it not become an issue.

My boyfriend on the other hand is the complete opposite. In high school he would trade eating for playing ball during his breaks (insane, I know), and then after school would spend even more time playing sport with his friends. I never thought our difference in opinion regarding exercise would really affect us much, because we were always comfortable just doing our own thing when need be. But once I finished high school, during those few months before university started, I saw just what a toll my laziness was having on him. I wouldn’t be bothered to leave the house and would always want to go out for food. Pretty soon he stopped playing sports with his friends and would trade that time to be with me instead. I felt so unbelievably guilty for changing such a core part of his daily routine, and so I got off my lazy butt and did something about it. I always knew I wanted to be the kind of partner who could motivate my significant other to be the best version of themself that they could be, and the fact that I was doing the opposite really sucked.

And so, against all odds I managed to start exercising for real. We’d go on runs (which absolutely killed my asthma), went to the gym, played sports and spent more time outdoors. It definitely was a massive effort, particularly because I come from a family of not-so-active people and so there was always the temptation to be lazy when I had no one keeping me accountable but me. And now, after a few years of trial and error, we’ve found our middle ground.

It wasn’t easy to finally get into a routine, but once I had, staying active became a necessity. If I missed even one day of getting up and doing something, I would feel glugy and gross, and I would miss the endorphine rush.

For anyone who has, or is, thinking about getting into some sort of active routine, I urge you to take the leap. Not only do I feel more energetic and motivated, I’m also happier. It’s not going to be easy – I tried going to the gym and using weights and machines, I tried different sports, yoga and pilaties and a few challenges like Insanity before I finally found my rhythm. Don’t give up, and you will too!

-SKC.

One thought on “No. 10: Get into an exercise routine

Leave a Reply

