Experiences · The 20's Venture

No. 27: Go night-fishing

28.07.2017

Growing up, fishing would always be something the guys did. My dad, uncles and male cousins would all go fishing during our camping trips while my mum, aunties and female cousins would go sightseeing or hang out on the beach. I honestly didn’t think too much of it until I started dating my boyfriend, who spent his childhood fishing with all of his family – male and female alike. So you could imagine his reaction when I told him that I had never been fishing before. Within a few days time, he planned an afternoon where he taught me to fish. I had a lot more fun than I was expecting to have, and it became something that we’d do with his family.

I added this to the list, not because it’s a new item or something that I want to tick off of a list, but rather because given how busy our lives can get with work, uni and balancing our social life with family and friends, it gets difficult to plan relaxing things to do together, like fishing.

We spend the late afternoon at Longnose Point with a beautiful view of the Harbour Bridge and the Sydney City skyline. After the escape of many fish from my line (the most painful instances being when I watched the fish escape my line, just shy of me reaching for it), I managed to snag a few! I think the craziest part of the experience was that we went home with an eel! Like an actual, slimy and slightly scary-looking eel. It was heaps of fun, and I’m already planning for the next time. Hopefully I’ll be able to catch more fish.

-SKC.

One thought on “No. 27: Go night-fishing

Leave a Reply

