Challenge · Experiences · The 20's Venture

No. 31: Go stand up paddle-boarding

16.02.2017

I have to admit, the ocean absolutely terrifies me. I love being in the water and I love being carried by the waves, but my imagination loves to run wild at the worst possible times. Every time I begin to relax, I imagine all sorts of creatures swimming underneath me or coming up behind me and I freak. So the decision to go stand up paddle-boarding was in the hopes that I would get more comfortable being in the ocean, especially since we would need to venture pretty far from the shore into some relatively deep waters to make the most of the experience.
IMG_2521

It was extremely daunting at first, to paddle myself further and further from the safety of the sand. I have absolutely no doubts that peer pressure played a part in getting me as far as I did, but I’m so glad that it did. After the first few minutes of getting a feel for the weight of the board and shaking off the wobbly feeling in my legs, I totally forgot about how deep the water must be beneath me and just enjoyed the experience. It was unbelievably hot that day, so once we got far enough, we “parked” and just lay on the boards, splashing ourselves with water to cool off. It did take a little bit of time for me to summon up the courage to stand up, and I’m proud to say that I didn’t fall down once!

To be completely honest, the hardest part of the whole thing was carrying that board back to the rental shop from the beach. Beach lethargy + the glaring sun + the heaviest board I’ve ever carried, ever = a really tiring 20 minutes. Shout out to the lovely ladies at Jervis Bay Kayak & Paddlesports Co. who helped us out and gave us some tips to make sure we knew what we were doing out there.

IMG_2520

-SKC.

One thought on “No. 31: Go stand up paddle-boarding

Leave a Reply

