Challenge · Creative Endeavours · Experiences · Milestones · The 20's Venture · Words

No. 69: Start something new

06.03.2017

This is something that I’ve written about before, but honestly it just means that much to be that I don’t think I’ll ever get over it or ever stop writing about it. The 6th of March of 2017 marked the day that I started my Masters degree at the University of Sydney. Now it’s not getting accepted into Masters or starting a Masters degree that had me so excited (though those were definitely things that made me ridiculously happy). It was the fact that I would be studying Publishing. I had decided to take the leap and invest in myself – invest in my passion and my dream despite taking the safer and “smarter” option for my undergraduate degree.

Yes, Psychology could mean a stable job in a clinic or research lab somewhere. It could mean good money and steady hours. But despite enjoying my degree in Psychology and all that came with it, it wasn’t a career path that I envisioned for myself when I thought about a happy and fulfilling career.

I don’t doubt that I will go back to Psychology some day, just not in the capacity of a researcher or a clinician. I feel as though my undergraduate degree taught me so much about human behaviour and the world around me, and without it I wouldn’t have been brave enough to invest in my dream – the world of the written word. I love reading, I love writing and I love storytelling. I love the impact that words can have and I love the experience that comes with being immersed into a story that makes you believe or hope or just be happy.

Choosing to do my Masters in Publishing was like choosing myself, choosing my dream and choosing what I know will make me happy. It’s unbelievably terrifying to accept that this is what I want to do. There is this nagging fear that I’m not good enough to do what I love or that I’ll put myself out there and be rejected. But honestly, the prospect of being able to be a part of an industry that is so integral to the creativity, happiness and expansion of human knowledge is enough to help me stand tall and motivate me to do the best that I can.

Here’s hoping that it proves to be a fruitful endeavour!

-SKC.

One thought on “No. 69: Start something new

Leave a Reply

