Challenge · Creative Endeavours · Experiences · Milestones · Photography · The 20's Venture · Words

No. 41: Compile a ‘Life Goals’ List

02.07.2017

There is a lot of conflicting advice out there when it comes to having dreams – have lots of dreams, don’t have lots of dreams, dreams are good, dreams are crippling, dreams are motivational, dreams are unattainable. Something that I realised very early on? Advice is subjective. A piece of advice that works for one person could have disastrous effects on another. For some, dreams are what move them and motivate them and for others, it shuts them down because they feel that their dreams are so out of reach? One of the best pieces of advice I’ve ever been given is this:

Dreams don’t work unless you do.

I quickly realised that it’s absolutely magnificent to have dreams, and that having dreams were essential for me to stay childlike and in awe of the world and constantly curious about the possibilities. But I’ve been forever careful about mistaking dreams for goals or making the (what I believe to be) incredibly limiting distinction that it’s one or the other.

Dreams are what make you excited, are what stir your heart and make you feel like anything is possible.

Goals are your action plan, that push you when you’re stuck and that keep you on track when you start to feel like your dreams are out of reach.

They are intertwined in the same way that you need a passport and a ticket to travel overseas. Even with your passport, you’re not getting on a plane without a ticket and in the same way, no one is going to let you pass the first line of security without your passport handy. Can’t have one without the other.

And so, keeping in line with this philosophy, I collated all my big dreams, the ones that seem silly to want because it feels like they’ll never happen, the ones that are a tad bit superficial to be considered a “life goal” but I add because I believe it’ll bring me joy (so is it really that superficial?) and the ones that I feel that I must do before I die. I have big, overarching and magnificent dreams but alongside those, I have my goals – the action plan that I’ve formulated to get me there. And since I love creating, I went and created:

19747856_10213640122223121_774672773_o.jpg

I strongly urge you set yourself some goals to accompany any of the big dreams that you have. Whether you wholeheartedly believe that you’ll get there in the end or you’re full of doubt that it’ll ever happen, writing down some concrete, tangible actions might help organise the excitement in your head and help you realise that it’s not so far out of reach after all.

-SKC.

One thought on “No. 41: Compile a ‘Life Goals’ List

Leave a Reply

