Challenge · Experiences · The 20's Venture

No. 97: Have a digital detox

27.06.2017

With all of the ramblings about the rise of technology and it’s increasing role in our every day lives, I don’t think it’s quite necessary for me to add my two cents in. If you’re reading this, you probably have some idea as to why a digital detox is a good idea. So instead, I’m going to write about the positive things/stuff that I’ve come to think about that came from completing this said task:

  • I actually noticed things. It seems like such a silly thing to say, but there are a lot of things that go unnoticed when my eyes are glued to my screen and I’m mindlessly scrolling through my social medias.
  • It is possible to completely focus on one thing and only one thing at a time – a rare ability, but one that I hope to continue to utilise all the same.
  • There is a lot more time in the day to do important stuff that you realise, when you cut out the 20 minute scroll through Instagram when you wake up, the extra 10 minutes of Facebook scrolling during lunch even after you’ve finished all your food, and the scrolling that we all do when we’re just chilling at home or sitting on the toilet (don’t try to deny it, we all know the truth).
  • People are quite interesting if you invest enough time and eye-contact in them.
  • Technology was meant to increase productivity and make connections, and while it has in some regards, it has also proven to have the ability to kill productivity, nurture procrastination and destroy our ability to interact and function in the real world.

There are more I’m sure, but since I was walking around whilst thinking about this task and had decided against pulling my phone out right that second to write it down, I lost it (one of the disadvantages of being completely tech-free and why I can’t actually function without it because ideas literally come to me at the most inconvenient times).

I chose to do this during semester break, but unfortunately with internships and work and whatnot, I couldn’t really stay away for as long as I’d like. Instead, I chose to limit my “online” and digital time, and even just a small step in that direction made a very noticable change. I cut out games on my phone and watching hours worth of YouTube videos and opening Instagram every 2 minutes, even though nothing new has popped up on my feed since I last opened it.

I don’t think it’s very plausible to be completely offline and still continue to live my life (#stuffmillennialssay – judge me all you’d like, but I know a good deal of the population would agree) so instead I chose to ration it wisely. I don’t think I’ll ever get to a place where I can go completely off the digital grid, but I think it’s safe to say that I’ve relearned the value of “switching off” every once in a while. Try it out some time, it might be exactly what you need.

-SKC.

One thought on “No. 97: Have a digital detox

Leave a Reply

