Challenge · Creative Endeavours · Experiences · The 20's Venture

No. 50: Create my own work space

20.12.2016

Disclaimer: I wish that there was a photo to show just how I managed to do this, but unfortunately we moved out of my family home before I got the chance. You’ll just have to take my word for it and use your imagination.

A part of me always knew, despite the excuses I made to my parents to get out of cleaning, that a clean and clear workspace made for a clean and clear mind. I was always more productive when I didn’t have stacks of paper or books or old water bottles scattered around, distracting me. Going into high school, I found that creating my perfect workspace was about more than just having a clear desk, because honestly sometimes that distracts me even more (don’t ask me why, I have no idea). After years of experimentation, I’ve found that my perfect workspace was made up of a few key elements:

  1. Enough space for my laptop, a desk lamp and any books or resources I might need to use while working.
  2. A (fresh) bottle of water.
  3. A calendar and a to-do list to keep me on track.
  4. Some visual reminder of goals or something that I was working towards to keep me motivated.
  5. Something green, like a small potted plant or a nice framed picture. Not sure why the picture works – I always figured it had to be a plant but I guess there’s something whacky going on in my brain.

And so, through the grittier years of high school and during my undergraduate degree, I aimed to keep my workspace as close to what I described as possible. I tend to be the person that dumps things on my desk and only begins to tackle the mess when it looks dangerously close to toppling onto the floor, so it was definitely a challenge to keep my workspace productive. I got there in the end though! The next step is a home office or some sort, or a little corner that will be reserved only for productivity (and not my Netflix breaks).

-SKC.

One thought on “No. 50: Create my own work space

Leave a Reply

