Challenge · Creative Endeavours · Experiences · The 20's Venture

No. 40: Volunteer

2016/17

Volunteering for me started out with a way to get work experience without needing work experience. Now this was very early days, and I had a very selfish and narrow worldview about the practise. Over the years I’ve come to develop a deep respect for those who make time in their busy lives to do something that extends beyond themselves, to do something for someone else. As I grew particularly passionate about certain things, volunteering became a great way to exercise my passion proactively without having to dedicate my entirety to one particular cause. It gave me the freedom to split my time and hopefully do as much good as possible. I’ve been so blessed to be able to volunteer with the Cancer Council, at my local church, at my old high school and with the United Nations. It’s been so spectacular and I’ve made so many friends and had so many further opportunities because I took the initial leap.

I read this article once about families who add volunteering into their weekly/monthly family time for a win-win. Not only do they get to do some good, but they also get to have some quality family bonding time. It also instills good values in kids and can increase our feelings of gratitude, tolerance and understanding. I hope that some time in the future, I can do some volunteering with my family. If there was something that you were particularly passionate about, I strongly encourage you to search for some opportunities near you.

 

One thought on “No. 40: Volunteer

Leave a Reply

